A Day In The Life: Self-Quarantine with a Toddler

We’ve been practicing social distancing since last Friday. In some ways, our routine isn’t that different. We’re pretty big homebodies as it is, so it’s not all that abnormal to spend the whole weekend at home. I’m also home with Miles 3 weekdays, so I’m used to having days at home with him.

How has life changed?

  • No more daycare – which is when I usually get my blog/YouTube work done. I’m definitely struggling to find a balance of feeling like I’ve done work and I’m accomplished and not overdoing it.
  • No more toddler events – usually Miles and I go to the library, swim lessons, coffee dates, etc. So, while we do stay home a lot, we definitely are missing out on many social things we used to do.
  • Uncertainty – I think the hardest part of all of this for many of us is just the unknown. We don’t know how long. It’s hard living your life so “up in the air.”

I wanted to bring you along for a day in the life of what it looks like for us at home right now. And, at the bottom of this post is a general schedule that we follow.

Products shown in video:

Other Links:

Daily Social Distancing Schedule

This is just a very loose schedule. It can vary a lot depending on when Miles wakes up, the weather, etc.

  • 6am-8am: Wake up, snack, free play
  • 8:00-8:30: Chores. Miles hangs out while I get some type of house chore done, maybe laundry or cooking or cleaning.
  • 8:30: Get dressed. I get both Miles and I dressed. Even if we’re not leaving and even if it’s just leggings for me. The routine helps me feel more normal.
  • 9:00: Breakfast
  • 9:30: Music/Art/Activity
  • 10:00: Outside play
  • 11:15: Come inside to make lunch
  • 12:00 Nap for Miles, work hustle for me
  • 2:00-3:00: Wake up, snack
  • 3:30: Outside play/Go for a walk
  • 5:00: Cook dinner together
  • 5:30/6:00 Family dinner*
  • 6:30: Free play
  • 7:00 Bath/bedtime

*Note about dinner: We have family dinner (all 3 of us) a few times a week and a few times a week we have adult-only dinner. It’s a good balance of having meal time with Miles and having relaxing mealtime as the two of us. What works for us is setting which days are family nights and which are adult nights. At our house, every Monday and Wednesday is ALWAYS family night. Friday and Saturday are always adult nights. Then we usually pick 1-2 other nights for family dinner depending on our schedule that week.

Hey There!

I'm Kallie!

Also known as That Practical Mom

I’m all about helping you simplify the chaos of life so you can slow down and enjoy it.

You may have seen me on:



Woman cleaning dishes at the kitchen sink

Hey there, I’m

Nothing happens around here before coffee, so pour a cup and join me. Here you’ll find life hacks, budgeting, simple DIYs, and honest motherhood.
New here?